Library Committee

This committee's role is to advise Council on policy matters for (i) the Society's Library and Archives and (ii) its promotion of the history of science, technology and medicine in the UK, within the context of the overall aims and objectives of the Society, and to recommend expenditure from the Society's history of science budget.

The members of the committee in 2011 are:

  • Professor Uta Frith FRS (Chair)
  • Professor John Pethica FRS (Physical Secretary)
  • Professor Tom Meade FRS (Chair of Biographical Memoirs Editorial Board)
  • Professor Robert Fox (Chair of Notes and Records Editorial Board)
  • Professor Tim Birkhead FRS
  • Dr Andrew Leitch
  • Professor Keith McLauchlan FRS
  • Dr Katy Price
  • Sir John Rowlinson FRS


Our mission

To recognise, promote, and support excellence in science and to encourage the development and use of science for the benefit of humanity.

Our priorities

  • Promoting science and its benefits
  • Recognising excellence in science
  • Supporting outstanding science
  • Providing scientific advice for policy
  • Fostering international and global cooperation
  • Education and public engagement