Science Policy Advisory Group


The current membership of the Advisory Group is:


Professor Geoffrey Boulton FRS (Chair)

Regius Professor of Geology and Mineralogy, University of Edinburgh


Sir Roy Anderson FRS

Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology, Imperial College


Dr Philip Campbell

Editor-in-Chief, Nature


Professor Richard Catlow FRS

Dean of Mathematical and Physical Sciences Faculty, University College London


Mr Clive Cookson

Science Editor, Financial Times


Dame Anne Dowling FREng FRS

Professor of Mechanical Engineering & Head, Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge


Dr Matthew Freeman FRS

Head of Division of Cell Biology, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge


Dr Julie Maxton

Executive Director, The Royal Society


Professor Susan Owens OBE FBA

Professor of Environment and Policy, University of Cambridge


Professor John Pethica FRS

Physical Secretary and Vice-President, Royal Society (ex officio)

Professor Martyn Poliakoff FRS

Foreign Secretary and Vice-President, Royal Society (ex officio)


Dr David Roblin

Formerly Senior Vice President, Head of Research and Site Director, Sandwich Laboratories, Pfizer Limited


Professor Geoffrey Smith FRS

Head, Department of Pathology, University of Cambridge


Dame Jean Thomas FRS

Biological Secretary and Vice-President, Royal Society (ex officio)


Baron Willis of Knaresborough

Former Chair, House of Commons Science & Technology Committee


Our mission

To recognise, promote, and support excellence in science and to encourage the development and use of science for the benefit of humanity.

Our priorities

  • Promoting science and its benefits
  • Recognising excellence in science
  • Supporting outstanding science
  • Providing scientific advice for policy
  • Fostering international and global cooperation
  • Education and public engagement