Biological Sciences Awards Committee

This committee's role is to assess nominations for, and advise Council on, recipients of the medals, awards and prizes relating to the biological sciences.

The committee is sometimes referred to as the 'B-side Awards Committee'. It is responsible for assessing nominations for the Buchanan Medal, Copley Medal, Croonian Lecture, Darwin Medal, Ferrier Lecture, Francis Crick Lecture, Gabor Medal, Kavli Medal and Lecture, Leeuwenhoek Lecture, Royal Medal, Royal Society GlaxoSmithKline Prize and Lecture and Royal Society Pfizer Award.

The members of the committee for 2012 are:

  • Dame Jean Thomas DBE FRS (Chair)
    Biological Secretary and Vice President of the Royal Society
  • Professor Graham Collingridge FRS
    Centre for synaptic plasticity, University of Bristol
  • Professor Karl Friston FRS
    Functional Imaging Laboratory, University College London
  • Dr Michael Goedert FRS
    MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Keith Gull CBE FRS
    Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, University of Oxford
  • Professor Peter Leadlay FRS
    Department of Biochemistry, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Tomas Lindahl FRS
    London Research Institute, Cancer Research UK
  • Professor Angela McLean FRS
    Department of Zoology, University of Oxford
  • Sir Keith Peters FRS
    GlaxoSmithKline R and D
  • Professor John Pickett CBE FRS
    Rothamsted Research
  • Professor Liz Robertson FRS
    Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, University of Oxford