Francis Crick Lecture

This prize lecture is given on a subject in the field of biology.

Crick Francis Crick FRS (credit: Public Library of Science)

The Francis Crick Lecture is given annually in any field in the biological sciences. Preference is given to genetics, molecular biology and neurobiology, the general areas in which Francis Crick worked, and to fundamental theoretical work, which was the hallmark of Crick’s science.

The lectureship was endowed by Sydney Brenner FRS in memory of Francis Crick FRS. The first lecture was given in 2003. The lectureship is accompanied by a medal and a gift of £500.

The Committee will award the lectureship to an early career stage scientist, meaning candidates should have undertaken no more than 15 years of research work since gaining their PhD.

The award is open to citizens of a Commonwealth country or of the Irish Republic or those who have been ordinarily resident and working in a Commonwealth country or in the Irish Republic for a minimum of three years immediately prior to being proposed.


The next call for nominations for this award opens on 28 November 2014.

The recipient is chosen by the Council of the Royal Society on the recommendation of the Biological Sciences Awards Committee. Nominations are valid for one year.

Duncan Odom-Crick

Most recent medallist

Dr Duncan Odom was awarded the 2014 Francis Crick Lecture for his pioneering work in the field of comparative functional genomics, which has changed our understanding of the evolution of mammalian transcriptional regulation.

Prize lectures

Clifford Paterson Lecture: Given on a subject in the field of engineering.

Ferrier Lecture: Given on a subject relating to the structure and function of the nervous system.

Francis Crick Lecture: Given on a subject in the field of biology.

Kavli Medal and Lecture: Given on a subject relating to the environment or energy.

Leeuwenhoek Lecture: Given on a subject in the field of microbiology, bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and microscopy.

Michael Faraday Prize: For excellence in communicating science to UK audiences.

Royal Society GlaxoSmithKline Prize and Lecture: For original contributions to medical and veterinary sciences.

Royal Society Milner Award: For outstanding achievement in computer science by a European researcher.

Royal Society Rosalind Franklin Award and Lecture: To support the promotion of women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Rutherford Memorial Lecture: An exchange lecture between university centres in the Commonwealth, with at least one in three delivered in New Zealand.

Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Lecture: Given on a subject relating to the social function of science, the philosophy of science or the history of science.

See all medals, awards and prize lectures.

Contact us

If you have a question about this scheme, please first read the scheme notes which contain more information. If the answer is still not available, you can contact the grants team here.

Open Biology journal

Open Biology is the Royal Society's fast, open access journal covering biology at the molecular and cellular level.
Read more