Royal Society Pfizer Award

This Award is made to scientists working in the biological sciences to promote capacity building in Africa.

Alexis Nzila Dr Alexis Nzila (2nd from right) was the first recipient of the Royal Society Pfizer Award in 2006.

Since 2006, with the support of Pfizer Inc, the Royal Society has offered the Pfizer Award to reward scientists based in Africa, and to promote science capacity building in the developing world.

The Royal Society Pfizer Award recognises research scientists who are making an innovative contribution to the biological sciences, including basic medical science, which contributes significantly to capacity building in Africa.

This year, to mark the 10th anniversary of the Royal Society Pfizer Award, the programme has been expanded to allow two awards to be made in 2015. Each award consists of a grant towards a research project that is linked to an African centre of scientific excellence, which would normally be a University, or equivalent research centre. The grant is intended to contribute towards the costs of the research project, with the exception of the awardees own salary. A further personal prize is also given to the recipients.

Early Career Award
The Early Career Award will be presented to a research scientist showing exceptional promise, but at an earlier stage of his or her career, usually having received their PhD within the last 20 years. The Early Career Award recipient will receive a grant of £14,000 together with a personal prize of £1,000.

Advanced Award
The Advanced Award will be presented to an experienced top-level researcher that has made a significant and sustained contribution in both research and leadership over a longer period of time. A grant of £11,000 and a personal prize of £4,000 will be awarded to the Advanced Award recipient.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony at the Royal Society. A seminar will also be held to celebrate the work of the awardees at which they will give a talk about their research and how their award will affect their progress. As part of the 10-year anniversary celebrations, past award recipients will be invited to attend and give a presentation on the award’s impact on his/her research career. Those attending the seminar will be scientists in the relevant field, those working on capacity building in Africa and policy makers.


The call for nominations is now closed.

The recipient is chosen by the Council of the Royal Society on the recommendation of the Biological Sciences Awards Committees. Nominations are valid for one year.

Please read the terms and conditions for this award (PDF) and the general terms and conditions (PDF) for your information.

Most recent medallists

Professor Jean-Jacques Muyembe-Tamfum 

Professor Jean-Jacques Muyembe-Tamfum was awarded the 2015 Royal Society Pfizer Advanced Award for his seminal work on viral haemorrhagic fevers, including Ebola, generating the foundation of our understanding of the epidemiology, clinical manifestations and control of outbreaks of these viral infections.

Dr Gordon Awandare

Dr Gordon Awandare was awarded the 2015 Royal Society Pfizer Early Career Award for his achievements in molecular and cellular studies of malaria, including how malaria parasites invade red blood cells and cause disease.


Royal Society Armourers & Brasiers' Company Prize: For excellence in materials science and technology.

Royal Society Mullard Award: For individuals whose work has the potential to make a contribution to national prosperity.

Royal Society Pfizer Award: For scientists working in the biological sciences to promote capacity-building in Africa.

See all medals, awards and prize lectures.

Contact us

For more information on this, and all Royal Society medals, awards and prize lectures, please contact

This award is supported by Pfizer Inc.