State of the nation header

State of the nationWorking Group 4

This is the Working Group for the fourth 'State of the nation' report on preparing for the transfer to STEM higher education.

  • Dr Andrew Hughes (Chair), Department of Chemistry, University of Durham
  • Chris Belsom, Head of Mathematics (retired), Ampleforth College, North Yorkshire
  • Dr Neville Evans, Education Consultant, Wales
  • Professor Jack Jackson OBE FRSE, Visiting Professor, Department of Curricular Studies, University of Strathclyde
  • Dr Ruth Jarman, Lecturer, School of Education, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Dr Christina Lazzeroni, University Research Fellow, School of Physics and Astronomy, Birmingham University
  • Professor Ottoline Leyser CBE FRS, Professor of Plant Developmental Genetics, University of York
  • Mr Dave Locke, Head of Science, Kingdown School, Wiltshire
  • Mr Roger McCune, Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment (CCEA), Northern Ireland
  • Professor Peter Main, Director of Education and Science, Institute of Physics (on behalf of SCORE)
  • Professor Richard Pring, Oxford University Department of Educational Studies
  • Professor Kate Purcell, Institute for Employment Research, University of Warwick
  • Ms Fiona Revell, Head of Chemistry, Alton College, Hampshire
  • Dr Paul Wilson, Head of Science, Ballyclare High School, County Antrim

State of the nation reports

Preparing for the transfer to STEM higher education
published February 2011

Science and mathematics education 5–14
published July 2010

Science and mathematics education 14–19
published October 2008

The UK’s science and mathematics teaching workforce
published December 2007