Skip to content

Fellowship Directory

Fellows in the news

Richard Morris

Richard Morris investigates the neurobiology of learning and memory — that is, how the brain mediates the storage of knowledge and its recollection.

With Professors Timothy Bliss and Graham Collingridge he won the prestigious Brain Prize for their "outstanding contribution to European neuroscience".

Find out more about the Prize

Find past fellows

Search our archive dating back as far as 1660.

The Fellowship


Sir Venki Ramakrishnan is President of the Royal Society. He started his five year term on 1 December 2015.

Venki received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his work on ribosomal structure and was knighted in 2012.

Read more about Venki

About the Fellowship

The Royal Society is a self-governing Fellowship made up of the most eminent scientists, engineers and technologists from the UK and the Commonwealth. Fellows and Foreign Members are elected for life through a peer review process on the basis of excellence in science.

There are approximately 1,600 Fellows and Foreign Members, including around 80 Nobel Laureates. Each year up to 52 Fellows and up to 10 Foreign Members are elected from a group of around 700 candidates who are proposed by the existing Fellowship.

Read more about elections to the Fellowship.