Skip to content

Royal Society Africa Prize

Royal Society Africa Prize

Royal Society Africa Prize winner 2019

africa-prize-mwandumbaDr Henry Mwandumba

The Royal Society Africa Prize 2019 is awarded to Dr Henry Mwandumba for his novel work in description of the TB phagosome in HIV infected alveolar macrophages and his leadership in the College of Medicine in Malawi.

Dr Mwandumba will be awarded a medal and a grant of £11,000 towards his research project at a symposium to be held in Autumn 2019. 

The award

The Royal Society Africa Prize is to recognise research scientists based in Africa who are making an innovative contribution to the biological sciences, including basic medical science, which contributes significantly to capacity building in Africa. The medal is of bronze, and is accompanied by a gift of £1,000. The prize was previously the Royal Society Pfizer Award which was last awarded in 2016.


The call for nominations opens on 29 November 2019.

Sign up to be notified when medals and awards nominations open.

Past winners

Dr Dorothy Yeboah-Manu was awarded the 2018 Royal Society Africa Prize for her contributions and innovative approaches to understanding Mycobacterium ulcerans and Mycobacterium africanum, combining microbiology, genetic studies and epidemiology in the areas of her work.

Dr Alassane Dicko was awarded the 2017 Royal Society Africa Prize for his contribution to research into malaria control, in particular using intermittent administration of medicines to children in the Seasonal Malaria Chemoprevention strategy recommended by WHO.

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.