Skip to content

Buchanan Medal

Cytotoxic T lymphocyte (green) attacking a cancer cell (red) courtesy of Professor Griffiths.

Buchanan medallist 2019

Professor Gillian Griffiths FMedSci FRSProfessor Gillian Griffiths FMedSci FRS

The Buchanan Medal 2019 is awarded to Professor Gillian Griffiths FMedSci FRS for establishing the fundamental cell biological mechanisms that drive cytotoxic T-cell killing, laying the foundations for informed application of cancer immunotherapy. 

Professor Griffiths will be awarded a medal and a gift of £2,000 at the Society’s Anniversary Day meeting on 29 November 2019. 

The award

The Buchanan Medal is awarded for distinguished contributions to the biomedical sciences. The award was created from a fund to the memory of the physician George Buchanan FRS (PDF), former Chief Medical Officer of the UK, and was first awarded in 1897. The medal is of silver gilt, is awarded annually and is accompanied by a gift of £2,000.


The call for nominations is now closed. The next round of nominations opens in November 2019. 

Sign up to be notified when medals and awards nominations open.

Past winners

Sir Adrian Peter Bird CBE FRS was awarded the 2018 Buchanan Medal for his discovery that 5-methycytosine-binding MeCP2 protein silences transcription of methylated DNA and can reverse established Rett Syndrome in MeCP2 deficiency, the first demonstration that such neurodevelopmental diseases are curable.

Sir Peter Ratcliffe FMedSci FRS was awarded the 2017 Buchanan Medal for his ground-breaking research on oxygen sensing and signalling pathways mediating cellular responses to hypoxia.

Professor Irwin McLean FMedSci FRS was awarded the 2015 Buchanan Medal for his major contribution to our understanding of the genetic basis of heritable skin diseases. 

See full list of all past winners of the Buchanan Medal.

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.