Skip to content

Clifford Paterson Medal and Lecture

Clifford Paterson Medal

Nominations now open

The call for nominations is now open. Please refer to the Medals and Awards guidance notes (PDF) to check nominee eligibility.

This year, the Society is encouraging nominations of joint collaborations, groups or teams for almost all its medals to better represent how contemporary science is undertaken. In addition, the Society is extremely keen to broaden the diversity of those nominated for its awards, so do please consider all contacts and colleagues.  

You do not have to be a Fellow of the Royal Society to nominate or be nominated for any of the Royal Society medals and awards.

Nominations close on Friday 25 February 2022 at 3pm GMT. 

Nominate now

Clifford Paterson Medal and Lecture winner 2022

Clifford Paterson_Anne NevilleProfessor Anne Neville OBE FREng FRS

The Clifford Paterson Medal and Lecture 2022 is awarded to Professor Anne Neville OBE FREng FRS for her innovative research into corrosion and tribology and the successful application of this to wide-ranging, real life, engineering problems.

Professor Neville will be award a medal and a gift of £2,000 at the associated prize lecture in 2022.

The award

The Clifford Paterson Medal and Lecture is given for outstanding contributions in the field of engineering. The lectureship was originally endowed by The General Electric Company in memory of Clifford Paterson FRS, who founded the GEC Research Laboratories in 1919. Originally the lectures were given on electrical science and technology but this was later broadened to any aspect of engineering. The first lecture was given in 1975. The medal is of bronze, is awarded biennially and is accompanied by a gift of £2,000. 


The Clifford Paterson medal and lecture is open to UK/Commonwealth/Irish Republic citizens or those who have been residents for three or more years. There are no restrictions on career stage and nominations will remain valid and shall be considered by the award selection committee throughout three nomination cycles. 


The call for nominations is now closed. The next round of nominations opens in November 2022.

Past winners

Dr Jacqueline Cole will be awarded the Clifford Paterson Medal and Lecture 2020 for the development of photo-crystallography and the discovery of novel high-performance nonlinear optical materials and light-harvesting dyes using molecular design rules.

Professor Timothy Leighton FREng FRS was awarded the Clifford Paterson Medal in 2018 and presented his lecture The acoustic bubble: climate change, spaceships, dolphins, and the antibiotic apocalypse.

Professor Russell Cowburn FRS was awarded the Clifford Paterson Medal in 2016 and presented his lecture The attractions of magnetism: chips, cancer and crime

See full list of all past winners of the Clifford Paterson Medal and Lecture.

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.