Skip to content

Hughes Medal

David E. Hughes FRS

The award

The Hughes Medal is awarded to an outstanding researcher in the field of energy. The award was named after the scientist David E. Hughes FRS (PDF) and was first awarded in 1902. Hughes was a Welsh-American scientist and musician who invented the first working radio communication system and the first microphone. The medal is of silver gilt, awarded annually and is accompanied by a gift of £2,000.


The call for nominations is now closed. The next round of nominations will open in November 2018.

Past winners

Professor Peter Bruce FRS was awarded the Hughes Medal in 2017 for his distinguished work elucidating the fundamental chemistry underpinning energy storage. 

Professor George Efstathiou FRS was awarded the Hughes Medal in 2015 for many outstanding contributions to our understanding of the early Universe, in particular his pioneering computer simulations, observations of galaxy clustering and studies of the fluctuations in the cosmic microwave background. 

See full list of all past winners of the Hughes Medal.