Skip to content

Kavli Education Medal and Lecture

Kavli Education Medal

The Medal

The Kavli Education Medal is awarded biennially to an individual who has had a significant impact on science, mathematics or computing education. The medal is accompanied by a gift of £1,000 and the winner will be required to give a prize lecture or presentation at the Royal Society or other appropriate venue. 

For 2019/20, the Royal Society Education Committee has extended the eligibility criteria to ensure that this award is open to practising teachers, school leaders, educational researchers, academics, policy makers and others who have made a significant impact on science, mathematics or computing education within the UK.


  • Individuals cannot self-nominate
  • Nominees may work in a school, further education, higher education, academia or educational organisations
  • The prize will be awarded in cases where the nominee has had a breadth of influence but it is not necessary that the work is on a national scale
  • The prize will be for individuals only
  • The award can be made to an individual working at any phase for science, computing and mathematics education (e.g. primary, secondary, post-16 and higher and further education)
  • Nominees must have been resident in the UK for the last 3 years
  • The nominators will need to identify and seek permission from two referees before the nomination is submitted. Theses referees will then be contacted and asked to submit their references online

Selection criteria

The judges will consider the following criteria when selecting the winner, however nominees are not necessarily expected to meet all of the selection criteria and the nominee’s stage of career will be considered alongside their record of achievement. Eligible nominees will be someone who has:

  • Had significant teaching/educational research/educational engagement achievements with the ability to inspire
  • Published educational research or teaching materials to significantly impact science, mathematics or computing education – for example a paper, a book, a school improvement plan, or a comprehensive series of lesson plans
  • Demonstrated the ability to communicate with a wider audience
  • Demonstrated leadership of significant (inter)national science, mathematics or computing education projects, committees and/or working groups
  • Possibly received commendations for distinguished service relating to science, mathematics and computing education more generally
  • Demonstrated that significant change in education policy or pedagogy has been effected


The call for nominations is now closed. The next round of nominations will open in November 2019. 

Sign up to be notified when medals and awards nominations open.

Previous winners

Please note that the eligibility criteria has been updated and widened for 2019.

The Kavli Education Medal and Lecture 2018 was awarded to Professor Alice Rogers OBE for her outstanding contributions to mathematics education. She demonstrated her ability to combine her academic work with meaningful collaborations with teachers and young people, sat on committees, wrote key reports, and engaged with educational authorities with the utmost of clarity, patience and attention to detail, working both tirelessly and quietly.

Dr Becky Parker MBE was awarded the Kavli Education Medal 2016 for founding the Langton Star Centre for school children to perform authentic research in the sciences and her encouragement for other teachers to undertake creative and experimental research with their pupils.

Professor Sir John Holman was awarded the Kavli Education Medal in 2014 in recognition of his significant impact on science education within the UK. 

See full list of all past winners of the Kavli Education Medal.

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.