Skip to content

Leverhulme Medal

William Lever

The award

The Leverhulme Medal is awarded for an outstanding researcher in the field of chemical engineering and applied chemistry. 

The award is supported by the Leverhulme Trust, established under the will of Victorian entrepreneur William Lever, and was first awarded in 1960 to mark the Tercentenary of the Royal Society. The medal is gold, is awarded triennially and is accompanied by a gift of £2,000. 

Past winners

Professor Anne Neville OBE FREng FRS was awarded the Leverhulme Medal 2016 for revealing diverse physical and chemical processes at interacting interfaces, emphasising significant synergy between tribology and corrosion and in addition for exceptional research which has enhanced understanding of basic processes and addressed major industrial problems.

Sir Konstantin Novoselov FRS was awarded the Leverhulme Medal in 2013 for revolutionary work on graphene, other two‐dimensional crystals and their heterostructures that has great potential for a number of applications, from electronics to energy.

See full list of all past winners of the Leverhulme Medal

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.