Skip to content

Michael Faraday Prize and Lecture

Dr Nick Lane, Winner of the Michael Faraday Prize and Lecture 2016

The award

The award is named after Michael Faraday FRS, the influential inventor and electrical pioneer who was prominent in the public communication of science and founded the Christmas lectures at the Royal Institution. The first award was made in 1986.

The Royal Society Michael Faraday Prize and Lecture is awarded annually to the scientist or engineer whose expertise in communicating scientific ideas in lay terms is exemplary. Normally, preference will be given to a practising scientist or engineer, but other individuals whose primary expertise is in writing, broadcasting or other relevant forms of communication may also be considered.

Nominations for the Michael Faraday Prize 2017 have now closed. Medallists will be announced in July with the next round of nominations opening in November 2017.

The Michael Faraday Medallist 2016

The Michael Faraday Prize and Lecture 2016 is awarded to Dr Nick Lane for excellence in communicating science to UK audiences.

Dr Lane will be presented with a medal of silver gilt, and a gift of £2,500 as part of his prize lecture to be given in February 2017.

Past winners

Professor Katherine Willis was awarded the Michael Faraday Prize 2015 and gave the lecture From genes to beans: polyploidy on a plate

Professor Andrea Sella was awarded the Michael Faraday Prize 2014 and gave the lecture Is chemistry really so difficult?

See full list of all past winners of the Michael Faraday Prize.