Skip to content

Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Medal and Lecture

John Wilkins FRS, John Desmond Bernal FRS, and Peter Medawar FRS

The award

The Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Medal and Lecture is given for excellence in a subject relating to the history of science, philosophy of science or the social function of science. The Wilkins, Bernal and Medawar lectures were originally delivered as three separate lectures, each given triennially. Since 2007, they have been combined under the one title of the Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Lecture, and have been given annually. The lectureship is supplemented with a medal of silver gilt and a gift of £2,000.

Past winners

Professor Mark Jackson was awarded the 2018 Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Medal for his significant contributions in popularising medical history and the medical humanities.

Professor Michela Massimi was awarded the 2017 Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Medal and presented her lecture 'Why philosophy of science matters to science' in May 2018.

Professor Jon Agar, Professor of Science and Technology Studies, University College London, gave the 2016 Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Lecture with the talk 'The curious history of curiosity-driven research'

See full list of all past winners of the Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Lecture.

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.