Skip to content

2021 Royal Society Science Book Prize, sponsored by Insight Investment

Entangled Life: How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds and Shape Our Futures (Bodley Head) by biologist and writer Merlin Sheldrake is the 34th winner of the annual Royal Society Science Book Prize, sponsored by Insight Investment.

Watch the ceremony or find out more.

Shortlist 2021

Find out more about the Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize. 

The Prize, which celebrates the very best in popular science writing from around the world, will be chaired  by world-leading immunologist, presenter and writer, Professor Luke O’Neill FRS. He is joined on the panel by representatives from across the worlds of science and culture: television presenter, Ortis Deley mathematician and Dorothy Hodgkin Royal Society Fellow, Dr Anastasia Kisil author and creative writing lecturer, Christy Lefteri, and journalist, writer and film maker Clive Myrie.

I’m delighted to be chairing the judging panel for the 2021 Royal Society Science Book Prize. Science communication has always been very important, to entertain, inform and inspire. This has never been more relevant than this year, with scientists engaging with the public across all media on a daily basis because of Covid-19. A tremendously interesting number of books have been nominated this year, across a huge range of topics, making our job very enjoyable but also challenging. Science communication is clearly in very good hands.

Professor Luke O'Neill FRS
Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.