Skip to content

Royal Society Science Book Prize, sponsored by Insight Investment

The five-strong judging panel for the 2022 Royal Society Science Book Prize, sponsored by Insight Investment, was announced today.

The Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize

Judging panel 2022

About the prize

Since 1988, the Royal Society has celebrated outstanding popular science writing and authors. Over the decades, the Prize has celebrated some notable winners including Bill Bryson and Stephen Hawking, and most recently Merlin Sheldrake and Dr Camilla Pang in 2021 and 2020 respectively. 

Each year our panel of expert judges, comprising eminent scientists, authors, journalists and broadcasters, choose the book that they believe makes popular science writing compelling and accessible to the public.

Find out more about the prize. For all enquiries please contact  

Winner 2021

Entangled Life: How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds and Shape Our Futures (Bodley Head) by biologist and writer Merlin Sheldrake is the 34th winner of the annual Royal Society Science Book Prize, sponsored by Insight Investment.

Watch the ceremony or find out more.


28 January 2022
Call for entries opens
24 March 2022
Call for entries closes
27 July 2022
Judging panel announced
September 2022
Shortlist announced
November 2022
Winner announced

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.