Statement from the organising committee of the Second International Human Genome Editing Summit

29 November 2018

An international summit bringing together world leading experts to examine the potential benefits and ethical and societal issues associated with advances in human genome editing has concluded in Hong Kong today (29 November). At the end of the meeting, the summit’s organising committee issued a statement (PDF).

This statement has been issued on behalf of the organising committee by the summit’s co-hosting academies – the Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong, the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, and the U.S. National Academy of Medicine and the Royal Society.

It was also announced at the conclusion of the summit that the Royal Society will host the next summit in the UK in around 2021.

Organising Committee 

David Baltimore, U.S. National Academy of Sciences (committee chair)
President Emeritus and Robert Andrews Millikan Professor of Biology
California Institute of Technology
United States

Alta Charo, U.S. National Academy of Sciences
Warren P. Knowles Professor of Law and Bioethics
University of Wisconsin, Madison 
United States

George Q. Daley, U.S.National Academy of Sciences
Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Caroline Shields Walker Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School
United States

Jennifer A. Doudna ForMemRS, U.S. National Academy of Sciences
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and 
Professor, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology and Department of Chemistry 
University of California, Berkeley
United States

Kazuto Kato
Professor of Biomedical Ethics and Public Policy
Graduate School of Medicine
Osaka University

Jin-Soo Kim
Director of Center for Genome Engineering
Institute for Basic Science
Seoul National University 
South Korea

Robin Lovell-Badge FRS
Senior Group Leader
The Francis Crick Institute; and 
Special Visiting Professor
University of Hong Kong
United Kingdom

Jennifer Merchant
Professor of Legal and Political Institutions 
Université de Paris II (Panthéon-Assas)

Indira Nath
Visiting Professor, Bio-Support Unit
Department of Biotechnology 
All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS); and
Former Raja Ramanna Fellow and Emeritus Professor
National Institute of Pathology

Duanqing Pei 
Professor and Director General
Guangzhou Institutes of Biomedicine and Health
Chinese Academy of Sciences

Matthew Porteus
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Division of Stem Cell Transplantation and Regenerative Medicine
Stanford University 
United States

John Skehel FRS
Emeritus Scientist
The Francis Crick Institute
United Kingdom

Patrick Tam FRS
Deputy Director and Head, Embryology Research Unit
Children's Medical Research Institute; 
Senior Principal Research Fellow
National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) of Australia; 
Professor, School of Medical Sciences, Faculty of Medicine and Health
The University of Sydney; and
Mok Hing-Yiu Distinguished Visiting Professor 
School of Biomedical Sciences
University of Hong Kong 

Xiaomei Zhai
Professor and Executive Director, Centre for Bioethics
Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences and Peking Union Medical College