Skip to content
About the Royal Society

Royal Society announces Dorothy Hodgkin Fellows for 2017

20 December 2017

The Royal Society has announced the appointment of 14 new Dorothy Hodgkin Fellows (DHFs) for 2017. The researchers have started taking up their new posts at institutions across the UK from the start of October.

This year the announcement also includes the appointment of 1 Royal Society- Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) Dorothy Hodgkin Research Fellow. This fellowship is funded through partnership with the EPSRC.

The DHF provides a recognised first step into an independent research career for outstanding early career scientists and engineers who require a flexible working pattern due to personal circumstances such as parenting or caring responsibilities. The scheme is extremely competitive and Dorothy Hodgkin Research Fellows are expected to progress to permanent academic positions across the UK.

The newly appointed Dorothy Hodgkin Research Fellows will be working on a wide range of research areas including developing a fundamental understanding of methane emissions from trees and investigating the regulation of inflammation in the ageing population. 

The full list of appointments is as follows:

Dr Clare Buckley
Optogenetic interrogation of cell polarity and division in neural tube formation
University of Cambridge

Dr Myriam Chimen
Glucocorticoid regulation of a B-cell pathway controlling T-cell trafficking
University of Birmingham

Dr Evelina Gersabeck
Charming antimatter and quantum entanglement
University of Manchester

Dr Sam Giles
Of ears and ecology: assembling the roots of the largest living vertebrate group
University of Oxford

Dr Nicola Hemmings
Why do eggs fail? Causes and consequences of female reproductive failure.
University of Sheffield

Dr Laura Kelley
The ecology and evolution of animal illusions
University of Exeter

Dr Farzana Meru
The role of self-gravitating discs in the formation & evolution of giant planets
University of Warwick

Dr Sunitha Pangala
The role of wetland trees in atmospheric methane emissions
Lancaster University 

Dr Nicole Robb
Single-molecule fluorescence studies of segmented, negative-sense RNA viruses
University of Oxford

Dr Marcel Schubert
Living Lasers for Life: Tagging, Tracking and Sensing at the Single Cell Level
University of St Andrews

Dr Ruth Thompson
Identification of a novel DNA damage checkpoint in mitosis
University of Sheffield

Dr Jennifer Tomlinson
Understanding the role of allostery in antibiotic resistance
University of Leeds

Dr Margherita Turco
Early Placental Development in Humans
University of Cambridge

The Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) funded:

Dr Marina Antoniou
SiC Power Devices for Smart Grid Systems
University of Cambridge

Of the 14 Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowships, one is being generously supported by the EPSRC, one through the Global Challenge Research Fund. 13 of the 14 (93%) Dorothy Hodgkin Research Fellows are female and one is male. In total there are 10 universities across the UK hosting the Dorothy Hodgkin Fellows. 

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.