Skip to content

Royal Society Science Book Prize, sponsored by Insight Investment

Judging panel 2021

The five-strong judging panel for the 2021 Royal Society Science Book Prize, sponsored by Insight Investment, is chaired by world-leading immunologist, presenter and writer, Professor Luke O’Neill FRS. He is joined on the panel by representatives from across the worlds of science and culture: television presenter, Ortis Deley; mathematician and Dorothy Hodgkin Royal Society Fellow, Dr Anastasia Kisil; author and creative writing lecturer, Christy Lefteri, and journalist, writer and film maker, Clive Myrie.

About the prize

Since 1988, the Royal Society has celebrated outstanding popular science writing and authors. Over the decades, the Prize has celebrated some notable winners including Bill Bryson and Stephen Hawking, and most recently Dr Camilla Pang and Caroline Criado Perez in 2020 and 2019 respectively. 

Each year our panel of expert judges, comprising eminent scientists, authors, journalists and broadcasters, choose the book that they believe makes popular science writing compelling and accessible to the public.

Find out more about the prize. For all enquiries please contact  

2020 Prize

Explaining Humans: What Science Can Teach Us about Life, Love and Relationships (Viking) by postdoctoral scientist and debut author Dr Camilla Pang won the 2020 Royal Society Science Book Prize, sponsored by Insight Investment. Find out more about the 2020 Prize and explore the 2020 shortlist


25 March 2021
Call for entries closes
21 July 2021
Judging panel announced
29 September 2021
Shortlist announced
29 November 2021
Winner announced

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.