Skip to content
Jump to


Understanding ourselves and the world around us are arguably the biggest tasks of being human. Science writers can demystify who we are, where we have come from, and where we might be heading.

Join three extraordinary authors shortlisted for the 2020 Royal Society Science Book Prize, sponsored by Insight Investment, in conversation with Rachael Garside:

Royal Society Science Book Prize, sponsored by Insight Investment:

For more than three decades the Royal Society has been celebrating outstanding popular science writing and authors. The Royal Society Science Book Prize, sponsored by Insight Investment, is awarded annually by a panel of expert judges, comprising of eminent scientists, authors, journalists and broadcasters. From hundreds of entries only six books, which make popular science writing compelling and accessible to the public, are shortlisted.

Previous winners of the prize include Stephen Hawking (2002), Bill Bryson (2004), Cordelia Fine (2017), Mark Miodownik (2014), Caroline Criado Perez (2019) and most recently, Camilla Pang (2020).

The 2021 shortlist will be announced later this summer.

Attending this event

Related Events

Online event

Is science writing the solution?

Tuesday 03 November 2020

Is science writing the solution? A panel discussion hosted by Professor Alice Roberts, followed by the announcement of the winner of the 2020 Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize.

At a time when the whole world is looking to science for answers, scientific research is playing a highly visible role in our daily lives. How we find out about science has never been more important. Whether through daily television broadcasts, online news, social media, or reading a popular science book, the way science is communicated influences how we receive, understand, and act on scientific information.