

# Membership of Sectional Committees 2015

The main responsibility of the Sectional Committees is to select a short list of candidates for consideration by Council for election to the Fellowship. The Committees meet twice a year, in January and March.

SECTIONAL COMMITTEE 1 [1963]

#### Mathematics

Chair: Professor Keith Ball Members: **Professor Philip Candelas** Professor Ben Green Professor John Hinch Professor Christopher Hull Professor Richard Kerswell Professor Chandrashekhar Khare Professor Steffen Lauritzen Professor David MacKay Professor Robert MacKay Professor James McKernan Professor Michael Paterson **Professor Mary Rees** Professor John Toland Professor Srinivasa Varadhan Professor Alex Wilkie

# SECTIONAL COMMITTEE 2 [1963]

## Astronomy and physics

Chair: Professor Simon White Members: Professor Girish Agarwal Professor Michael Coey Professor Jack Connor Professor Laurence Eaves Professor Nigel Glover Professor Duncan Haldane Professor Simon Lilly Professor Malcolm Longair Professor Tom McLeish Professor Mervyn Miles Sir John Pendry Professor Tejinder Virdee Professor Ian Walmsley Professor Terry Wyatt Professor Julia Yeomans

# SECTIONAL COMMITTEE 3 [1963] Chemistry

Chair: Professor Anthony Stace Members: Professor Varinder Aggarwal Professor Harry Anderson Professor Steven Armes Professor Paul Attfield Professor Shankar Balasubramanian Professor Philip Bartlett Professor Geoffrey Cloke Professor Peter Edwards Professor Malcolm Levitt Professor John Maier Professor Stephen Mann Professor David Manolopoulos Professor Paul O'Brien Professor David Parker **Professor Stephen Withers** 

## SECTIONAL COMMITTEE 4 [1990] Engineering

Chair: Professor Hywel Thomas Members: Professor Ross Anderson Professor Alan Bundy Professor Michael Burdekin Professor Russell Cowburn Professor John Crowcroft Dame Ann Dowling Professor Ian Horrocks Professor Anthony Kinloch Professor Gerhard Materlik Professor Jenny Nelson Professor Kerry Rowe Professor George Smith Dr Alan Turnbull Professor Mathukumalli Vidyasagar Professor Robert Young

### SECTIONAL COMMITTEE 5 [1963]

# Earth and environmental sciences

Chair: Professor James Jackson Members: Professor Richard Battarbee Professor Michael Benton Professor Joe Cann Professor Harry Elderfield Professor Christopher Hawkesworth Professor Gideon Henderson Sir Brian Hoskins Professor Trevor McDougall Professor Trevor McDougall Professor Hugh O'Neill Professor Tim Palmer Professor John Raven Professor David Stevenson

#### SECTIONAL COMMITTEE 6 [1996]

#### Biochemistry and molecular cell biology

Chair: Professor Angus Lamond Members: Professor Robin Allshire Professor Judith Armitage Professor Stephen Halford Dr Sean Munro Professor James Naismith Professor David Ron Professor David Stuart Professor Andrew Thomson Sir John Walker

#### SECTIONAL COMMITTEE 7 [1996] Microbiology, immunology and

# developmental biology

Chair: Professor Jeffery Errington Members: Dr Mariann Bienz Professor Adrian Bird Professor Doreen Cantrell Professor Gordon Dougan Professor Gordon Dougan Professor Edith Heard Professor Jonathan Hodgkin Professor Eddy Liew Dr Alan Smith Professor Fiona Watt

#### SECTIONAL COMMITTEE 8 [1996]

# Anatomy, physiology and neurosciences

Chair: Professor Russell Foster Members: Professor David Attwell Professor Michael Bate Professor David Brown Professor Nicola Clayton Professor Graham Collingridge Professor Alun Davies Professor Alun Davies Professor Nick Franks Professor Chris Frith Professor Chris Frith Professor Christine Holt Professor Richard Morris Professor Maria Grazia Spillantini

## SECTIONAL COMMITTEE 9 [1995]

## Organismal biology, evolution and ecology

Chair: Professor Steve Long Members: Professor Andrew Balmford Professor Deborah Charlesworth Professor Michael Crawley Professor Liam Dolan Professor Christopher Dye Professor Graham Farguhar Professor Rosemary Grant Professor Jonathan Jones Professor Russell Lande Professor Andrew Millar Professor Paul Sharp Professor Nicholas Talbot Professor Simon Tavaré Professor Chris Thomas

# SECTIONAL COMMITTEE 10 [1997] Health and human sciences

Chair: Sir Stephen O'Rahilly Members: Professor Garret FitzGerald Professor Rod Flower Professor Andrew Hattersley Professor Anne Mills Sir Richard Peto Professor Fiona Powrie Professor Humphrey Rang Professor Peter Ratcliffe Professor Wolf Reik Professor Graham Russell Professor Elizabeth Simpson Professor Karen Steel Professor Semir Zeki