Fellows elected under the former Statute 12

Attenborough Sir David Attenborough FRS is a leading naturalist and natural history broadcaster (photo by Anne Purkiss).

Prior to 1996 there were no Honorary Fellows, but there was a way to be elected to the Fellowship under the Statute 12 arrangements.

There are currently three Fellows who were elected under this arrangement (their election year is given in brackets):

John Palmer, Earl of Selborne [1991]

Sir David Attenborough [1983]

HRH The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh [1951]


Each year up to 52 Fellows and up to 10 Foreign Members may be elected.

Read the biographies of those elected in:
20142013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010