Our staff

The Fellowship is supported by a staff of approximately 273.

Dr Julie Maxton CBE

Dame Julie Maxton

Executive Director

Dame Julie Maxton DBE is Executive Director of the Royal Society.

Please note, all email addresses follow the format firstname.lastname@royalsociety.org

Programmes, Partnerships and Engagement

Name Job title
Lesley Miles Chief - Programmes, Partnerships and Engagement
Bill Hartnett Director of Communications
Katy Gearing
Programmes Director, Industry and Sector Engagement
Paul McDonald Director of Grants
Natasha Bevan Head of International Grants
Marianna D'Arco Head of UK Grants
Charlotte England Head of Grants Operations
Hugh Halligan Head of Grants Funding and Assurance
Keith Moore Head of Library and Information Services
Mark Littlewood Head of Industry Engagement
Prue Loney Head of Media Relations
Robert Rutter
Head of Digital Marketing and Engagement
Jolene Foster
Head of Diversity and Inclusion
Sharmila Metcalf
Head of Schools Engagement
Kimberley Freeman
Head of Public Engagement

Human Resources

Name Job title
Linda Kelly HR Director

Finance, Facilities and IT

Name Job title
Mary Daly Chief Financial Officer
Margarita Lewis Head of Finance
Richard Gascoigne Director of IT
Kris Kosiba Head of IT
Rachel Williams Head of Facilities
Barbara Wutte Head of Conference Services

Science Policy

Name Job title
Dr Rupert Lewis
Chief Science Policy Officer
Peter Finegold Head of Policy, Education
Areeq Chowdhury Head of Policy, Data and Digital Technologies
Thomas Frostick Head of Policy, Research and Innovation
Dr Luke X Reynolds Head of Policy, People and Planet
Charlotte Christison Head of Public Affairs

International Affairs

Name Job title
Ian Wiggins Director of International Affairs
Luke Clarke Head of International Affairs - Americas/Multilaterals/Africa
Laura Wilton Head of International Affairs - Europe and Asia


Name Job title
Rod Cookson Publishing Director
Graham Anderson Head of Publishing Operations

Development and Scientific Programmes

Name Job title
Katie Coupar-Evans Interim Director of Development and Scientific Programmes
Vivienne Russell Interim Head of Scientific Programmes
Sharon Bray Head of Development

Fellowship, Governance and Strategy

Name Job title
Alan Pitt Director of Fellowship, Strategy and Governance
Matt Cavill Head of Strategy
David Silverthorne Fellowship Manager