Royal Fellows

Queenat Convocation Her Majesty the Queen and HRH The Duke of Edinburgh attended the 350th anniversary convocation in 2010.

The Council of the Royal Society can recommend members of the UK Royal Family for election to the Fellowship. Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II is our patron.

There are currently six Royal Fellows (their election year is given in brackets):

HRH Prince Andrew, Duke of York [2013]

HRH Prince William of Wales [2009]

HRH The Duke of Kent [1990]

HRH The Princess Royal [1987]

HRH The Prince of Wales [1978]

HRH The Prince Philip, Duke Of Edinburgh [1951]


Each year up to 52 Fellows and up to 10 Foreign Members may be elected.

Read the biographies of those elected in:
20142013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010