Education Committee

This committee’s role is to inform and advise Council regarding the programme of activities undertaken by the Society to support scientific education.

The members of the committee in 2015 are:

  • Professor Tom McLeish FRS
  • Professor Adrian Sutton FRS
    Deputy Chair
  • Professor Alex Halliday FRS
    Ex-officio (Sec A)
  • Professor Philip England FRS
    Ex-officio (ACME Chair)
  • Professor Ottoline Leyser CBE FRS
    Ex-officio (SPAG Chair)
  • Dr Mariann Bienz FRS FMedSci
    Member (Scientist)
  • Mrs Tracy Boulton
    Member (Teacher)
  • Professor Margaret Brown
    Member (Educationalist)
  • Mrs Kate Chaytor
    Member (Teacher)
  • Dr Pari Collis
    Member (Teacher)
  • Mr Ian Duffy
    Member (Industry) 
  • Dr Fiona Gill
    Member (Scientist)
  • Dr Liz Lakin
    Member (Senior Lecturer)  
  • Dr Rhys Morgan
    Member (Engineering)
  • Dame Alison Peacock DBE
    Member (Teacher)
  • Professor Stephen Sparks CBE FRS
    Member (Scientist)
  • Mr Peter Thomas
    Member (Teacher)
  • Mr Mark Wakefield
    Member (Industry)


Our mission

To recognise, promote, and support excellence in science and to encourage the development and use of science for the benefit of humanity.

Our priorities

  • Promoting science and its benefits
  • Recognising excellence in science
  • Supporting outstanding science
  • Providing scientific advice for policy
  • Fostering international and global cooperation
  • Education and public engagement