Skip to content


Dr Julie Maxton CBE
Dr Julie Maxton CBE, Executive Director of the Royal Society

Executive Director

Dr Julie Maxton CBE is Executive Director of the Royal Society.

Please note, all email addresses follow the format

Programmes, Partnerships and Engagement

Name Job title
Lesley Miles Chief - Programmes, Partnerships and Engagement 
Jennifer Cormack Director of Development
Bill Hartnett Director of Communications
Paul McDonald Director of Grants
Natasha Bevan Head of International Grants
Marianna D'Arco Head of UK Grants
Charlotte England Head of Grants Operations
Daniel Callaghan Head of Public Affairs
Keith Moore Head of Library and Information Services
Tracey Hughes Head of Diversity, Public and Schools Engagement
Katy Gearing
Head of Industry and Engagement
Bronwyn Friedlander
Head of Media Relations
Robert Rutter
Head of Digital Marketing and Engagement

Human Resources

Name Job title
Linda Kelly HR Director

Finance, Facilities and IT

Name Job title
Mary Daly Chief Financial Officer
Margarita Lewis Head of Finance
Richard Gascoigne Director of IT
Amanda Meader Head of Facilities
Barbara Wutte Head of Conference Services

Science Policy

Name Job title
Dr Rupert Lewis
Chief Science Policy Officer
Peter Finegold Head of Policy, Education
Emma Woods Head of Policy, Wellbeing
Dr Natasha McCarthy Head of Policy, Data
Elizabeth Surkovic Head of Policy, Resilience and Emerging Technologies

International Affairs

Name Job title
Andrew Allen Director of International Affairs
Luke Clarke Head of International Affairs - Americas/Multilaterals/Africa
Laura Wilton Head of International Affairs - Europe and Asia

Publishing and Scientific Programmes

Name Job title
Dr Stuart Taylor Publishing Director
Phil Hurst Publisher
Graham Anderson Acting Head of Publishing Operations
Katie Coupar-Evans Head of Scientific Programmes

Fellowship, Governance and Strategy

Name Job title
Alan Pitt Director of Governance and Fellowship Affairs
David Silverthorne Fellowship Manager
Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.