Skip to content


Audience at the Commonwealth Science Conference 2014

The Commonwealth forms a significant part of the global scientific community. It is home to 12% of the world’s researchers and accounts for around 10% of global research and development expenditure. The Commonwealth represents nearly a third of the world’s population, in 52 countries across the globe.

The Fellowship of the Royal Society is made up of many of the most eminent scientists from across the Commonwealth. Scientists who are citizens of a Commonwealth country or work in a Commonwealth country are eligible to become Fellows.

Commonwealth Science Conference

In 2014 the Royal Society organised a major Commonwealth Science Conference in Bangalore with support from the Government of India for the first time in nearly fifty years. Leading scientists from over 30 member countries came together for this groundbreaking conference to showcase some of the best science from around the world.

A series of follow on grants are available to support conference attendees (and their nominees) to develop collaborative links with scientists in other Commonwealth countries.

Following the success of the Bangalore meeting, it was announced at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) in Malta in November 2015 that the next Commonwealth Science Conference will be held in Singapore. Find out more details of the next conference, which will take place from Tuesday 13 to Friday 16 June 2017, and how to apply to attend.

Supporting research consortia

Members of the Commonwealth are eligible for many of the grants and awards presented by the Society. Several grants schemes are offered in partnership with particular Commonwealth countries.

Improving access to journals

We are partners in a number of international schemes to make scientific journal articles available immediately and free of charge to the world's poorest nations.