Clifford Paterson Medal and Lecture

This prize lecture is given on a subject in the field of engineering.

Clifford Paterson FRS Clifford Paterson FRS

The Clifford Paterson Medal and Lecture is given biennially (in odd years) on any aspect of engineering. It is aimed at scientists working in modern and popular fields such as new media technologies and consumer electronics.

The lectureship was originally endowed by The General Electric Company in memory of Clifford Paterson FRS (PDF), who founded the GEC Research Laboratories in 1919. Originally the lectures were given on electrical science and technology but this was subsequently broadened to any aspect of engineering. The first lecture was given in 1975. The lectureship is accompanied by a medal and a gift of £2,000. 


The call for nominations is now closed. The next call for nominations will open in November 2016.

The recipient is chosen by the Council of the Royal Society on the recommendation of the Physical Sciences Awards Committee. Nominations are valid for three cycles of consideration with re-nomination possible after one cycle has passed.

The award is open to citizens of a Commonwealth country or of the Irish Republic or those who have been ordinarily resident and working in a Commonwealth country or in the Irish Republic for a minimum of three years immediately prior to being proposed.

Professor Russell Cowburn FRS

Most recent medallist

Professor Russell Cowburn FRS was awarded the 2016 Clifford Paterson Lecture for his remarkable academic, technical and commercial achievements in nano-magnetics.

Prize lectures

Clifford Paterson Medal and Lecture: Given on a subject in the field of engineering.

Ferrier Medal and Lecture: Given on a subject relating to the structure and function of the nervous system.

Francis Crick Medal and Lecture: Given on a subject in the field of biology.

Kavli Medal and Lecture: Given on a subject relating to the environment or energy.

Leeuwenhoek Medal and Lecture: Given on a subject in the field of microbiology, bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and microscopy.

Michael Faraday Prize and Lecture: For excellence in communicating science to UK audiences.

Royal Society GlaxoSmithKline Prize and Lecture: For original contributions to medical and veterinary sciences.

Royal Society Milner Award: For outstanding achievement in computer science by a European researcher.

Royal Society Rosalind Franklin Award and Lecture: To support the promotion of women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Rutherford Memorial Lecture: An exchange lecture between university centres in the Commonwealth, with at least one in three delivered in New Zealand.

Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Medal and Lecture: Given on a subject relating to the social function of science, the philosophy of science or the history of science.

See all medals, awards and prize lectures.

Contact us

For more information on this, and all Royal Society medals, awards and prize lectures, please contact