Gabor Medal

This medal is awarded for interdisciplinary work between the life sciences with other disciplines. 

Gabor Dennis Gabor FRS

The Gabor Medal is awarded biennially (in odd years). Previously it was awarded for acknowledged distinction of work in the life sciences, particularly in the fields of genetic engineering and molecular biology. In line with the donor’s wishes, the work rewarded may also, from time to time, relate to a branch of science to the progress of which Professor Dennis Gabor FRS had himself contributed. It is now awarded for acknowledged distinction of interdisciplinary work between the life sciences with other disciplines. An additional medal was awarded in 2010, to mark the Society’s 350th anniversary.

The award was created in memory of the engineer Dennis Gabor FRS (PDF). The first award was made in 1989. The medal is silver gilt and is accompanied by a gift of £2000. 


The call for nominations for the 2015 Gabor Medal is now closed. Nominations for the 2017 medal will open in November 2016.

The recipient is chosen by the Council of the Royal Society on the recommendation of the Joint Physical and Biological Sciences Awards Committee. Nominations are valid for three cycles of consideration with re-nomination possible after one cycle has passed.

If possible the Committee will award the medal to an early-to-mid career stage scientist. The award is open to citizens of a Commonwealth country or of the Irish Republic or those who have been ordinarily resident and working in a Commonwealth country or in the Irish Republic for a minimum of three years immediately prior to being proposed.

Professor Benjamin Simons

Most recent medallist

Professor Benjamin Simons was awarded the 2015 Gabor Medal for his work analysing stem cell lineages in development, tissue homeostasis and cancer, revolutionising our understanding of stem cell behaviour in vivo.


Buchanan Medal: For distinguished contributions to the medical sciences.

Darwin Medal: For work of acknowledged distinction in evolution, population biology, organismal biology and biological diversity.

Davy Medal: For important discoveries in chemistry.

Gabor Medal: For interdisciplinary work between the life sciences with other disciplines.

Hughes Medal: For original discoveries relating to the generation, storage and use of energy.

Kavli Education Medal: For impact in the field of science and mathematics education.

Leverhulme Medal: For significant contributions to chemistry or engineering.

Royal Society King Charles II Medal: For foreign Heads of State or Government who have made an outstanding contribution to furthering scientific research in their country.

Rumford Medal: For important discoveries in the field of thermal or optical properties of matter.

Sylvester Medal: For mathematical research.

See all medals, awards and prize lectures.

Contact us

For more information on this, and all Royal Society medals, awards and prize lectures, please contact

Photos of the Gabor Medal

Click an image to open a larger version.