Royal Society Hauksbee Award

These awards recognised the unsung heroes of science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Hauksbee The winners received their awards on Anniversary Day 2010.

The Royal Society Hauksbee Awards were made in 2010 to recognise and reward excellence in supporting science, technology, engineering and mathematics in the UK and to mark the Society’s 350th anniversary.

The awards were named after Francis Hauksbee FRS, who was Isaac Newton's laboratory assistant at the Royal Society. During his time as President, Newton appointed Hauksbee as curator and instrument maker, and Hauksbee later became a Fellow in his own right in 1705.

Award winners

  • Mr Trevor Beek, Technician, Department of Physics, Imperial College London
  • Mr Alex Brooks, Teacher, Design and Technology, Barking Abbey School, Barking
  • Ms Judith Green, Advanced Skills Teacher (AST), The Robert Smyth School, Market Harborough
  • Dr Sharon Hannah, Laboratory Manager, MRC Centre for Inflammation Research, University of Edinburgh
  • Mr Timothy Harrison, School Teacher Fellow, School of Chemistry, University of Bristol
  • Mr Robert MacDonald, Faculty Head of Science, Selby High School, Selby
  • Mr Ian Miller, Grade 7 Technician, Department of Physics, Lancaster University
  • Miss Caroline Molyneux, Head of Science Department, Balshaw's CE High School, Leyland
  • Mr Christopher Newsome, Science Technician, Parkside School, Cullingworth
  • Mr Kerry Pendergast, Science Teacher, West Monmouth School, Pontypool

Here is a film of the winners discussing their work and receiving their awards: