Kavli Education Medal

This medal is awarded for impact in the field of science and mathematics education.

Celia Nurse Professor Celia Hoyles and Sir Paul Nurse FRS

The Kavli Education Medal is awarded biennially (in even years) for “an individual who has made a significant impact on science or mathematics education within the UK”.  The recipient will be called upon to deliver a lecture either at a specialist scientific or educational meeting or for the general public as appropriate.  The  first award was made in 2010. 

The medal is of bronze gilt and is accompanied by a gift of £500. 


The next call for nominations for this award will open in November 2015.

The recipient is chosen by the Council of the Royal Society on the recommendation of the Education Committee.

Professor Sir John Holman

Most recent medallist

Professor Sir John Holman has been awarded the Kavli Education Medal in recognition of his significant impact on science education within the UK.


Buchanan Medal: For distinguished contributions to the medical sciences.

Darwin Medal: For work of acknowledged distinction in evolution, population biology, organismal biology and biological diversity.

Davy Medal: For important discoveries in chemistry.

Gabor Medal: For interdisciplinary work between the life sciences with other disciplines.

Hughes Medal: For original discoveries relating to the generation, storage and use of energy.

Kavli Education Medal: For impact in the field of science and mathematics education.

Leverhulme Medal: For significant contributions to chemistry or engineering.

Royal Society King Charles II Medal: For foreign Heads of State or Government who have made an outstanding contribution to furthering scientific research in their country.

Rumford Medal: For important discoveries in the field of thermal or optical properties of matter.

Sylvester Medal: For mathematical research.

See all medals, awards and prize lectures.

Contact us

For more information on this, and all Royal Society medals, awards and prize lectures, please contact awards@royalsociety.org.