Leverhulme Medal

This medal is awarded for significant contributions to chemistry or engineering.

Hinshelwood Sir Cyril Norman Hinshelwood OM FRS, President of the Royal Society from 1955-1960, was the first recipient of the Leverhulme Medal.

The Leverhulme Medal is awarded triennially for “an outstandingly significant contribution in the field of pure or applied chemistry or engineering, including chemical engineering”. An additional medal was awarded in 2010, to mark the Society’s 350th anniversary.

The award is supported by the Leverhulme Trust and was first awarded in 1960 to mark the Tercentenary of the Royal Society. The medal is of gold and is accompanied by a gift of £2,000.


The next call for nominations opens on 30 November 2015.

The recipient is chosen by the Council of the Royal Society on the recommendation of the Physical Sciences Awards Committee. Nominations are valid for five years after which the candidate cannot be re-nominated until a year after the nomination has expired.

If possible the Committee will award the medal to an early-to-mid career stage scientist. The award is open to citizens of a Commonwealth country or of the Irish Republic or those who have been ordinarily resident and working in a Commonwealth country or in the Irish Republic for a minimum of three years immediately prior to being proposed.

Konstantin Novoselov-Leverhulme - credit Rex Features

Most recent medallist

Professor Sir Konstantin Novoselov FRS was awarded the 2013 Leverhulme Medal for revolutionary work on graphene, other two‚Äźdimensional crystals and their heterostructures that has great potential for a number of applications, from electronics to energy.


Buchanan Medal: For distinguished contributions to the medical sciences.

Darwin Medal: For work of acknowledged distinction in evolution, population biology, organismal biology and biological diversity.

Davy Medal: For important discoveries in chemistry.

Gabor Medal: For interdisciplinary work between the life sciences with other disciplines.

Hughes Medal: For original discoveries relating to the generation, storage and use of energy.

Kavli Education Medal: For impact in the field of science and mathematics education.

Leverhulme Medal: For significant contributions to chemistry or engineering.

Royal Society King Charles II Medal: For foreign Heads of State or Government who have made an outstanding contribution to furthering scientific research in their country.

Rumford Medal: For important discoveries in the field of thermal or optical properties of matter.

Sylvester Medal: For mathematical research.

See all medals, awards and prize lectures.

Contact us

For more information on this, and all Royal Society medals, awards and prize lectures, please contact awards@royalsociety.org.

Photos of the Leverhulme Medal

Click on an image to open a larger version