Michael Faraday Prize

This award is made for excellence in communicating science to UK audiences.

Faraday Prize Michael Faraday FRS

The Royal Society Michael Faraday Prize is awarded annually to the scientist or engineer whose expertise in communicating scientific ideas in lay terms is exemplary. Normally, preference will be given to a practising scientist or engineer, but other individuals whose primary expertise is in writing, broadcasting or other relevant forms of communication may also be considered.

The award is named after Michael Faraday FRS (PDF), who engaged in the public communication of science. The first award was made in 1986.

The medal is of silver gilt and is accompanied by a gift of £2,500. The winner is called upon to deliver a lecture at the Society.

Teams are not normally considered, except where each member made an individual and clearly identifiable contribution. A scientist whose contribution was essentially a single item (for example, a lecture or book) would also not be considered.

The award is open to citizens of a Commonwealth country or of the Irish Republic or those who have been ordinarily resident and working in a Commonwealth country or in the Irish Republic for a minimum of three years immediately prior to being proposed.

The recipient is required to give an agreed lecture (usually in January of the following year). Nominations remain valid for 3 years.


The next call for nominations for this award opens on 28 November 2014.

The recipient is chosen by the Council of the Royal Society on the recommendation of the Michael Faraday Prize Committee. Nominations are valid for three years.

Frank Close - Faraday

Most recent medallist

Professor Frank Close OBE was awarded the 2013 Michael Faraday Prize for his excellent work in science communication. He delivered his lecture, The asymmetric Universe, on 28 January 2014.

Prize lectures

Clifford Paterson Lecture: Given on a subject in the field of engineering.

Ferrier Lecture: Given on a subject relating to the structure and function of the nervous system.

Francis Crick Lecture: Given on a subject in the field of biology.

Kavli Medal and Lecture: Given on a subject relating to the environment or energy.

Leeuwenhoek Lecture: Given on a subject in the field of microbiology, bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and microscopy.

Michael Faraday Prize: For excellence in communicating science to UK audiences.

Royal Society GlaxoSmithKline Prize and Lecture: For original contributions to medical and veterinary sciences.

Royal Society Milner Award: For outstanding achievement in computer science by a European researcher.

Royal Society Rosalind Franklin Award and Lecture: To support the promotion of women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Rutherford Memorial Lecture: An exchange lecture between university centres in the Commonwealth, with at least one in three delivered in New Zealand.

Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Lecture: Given on a subject relating to the social function of science, the philosophy of science or the history of science.

See all medals, awards and prize lectures.

Contact us

If you have a question about this scheme, please first read the scheme notes which contain more information. If the answer is still not available, you can contact the grants team here.

Photos of the Michael Faraday Prize

Click on an image to open a larger version