Skip to content

Fellowship Directory

Fellows in the news

New President-Elect

Sir Venki Ramakrishnan is President-Elect of the Royal Society. He will start his five year term on 1 December 2015.

Venki received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his work on ribosomal structure and was knighted in 2012.

Read more about Venki

Find past fellows

Search our archive dating back as far as 1660.

The Fellowship


Sir Paul Nurse is a geneticist and cell biologist whose discoveries have helped to explain how the cell controls its cycle of growth and division.

He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 2001 and was elected as President of the Royal Society in 2010.

About the Fellowship

The Royal Society is a self-governing Fellowship made up of the most eminent scientists, engineers and technologists from the UK and the Commonwealth. Fellows and Foreign Members are elected for life through a peer review process on the basis of excellence in science.

There are approximately 1,600 Fellows and Foreign Members, including around 80 Nobel Laureates. Each year up to 52 Fellows and up to 10 Foreign Members are elected from a group of around 700 candidates who are proposed by the existing Fellowship.

Read more about elections to the Fellowship.