Skip to content

Royal Society Africa Prize

Royal Society Africa Prize

Royal Society Africa Prize winner 2020

Dr Steven RunoDr Steven Runo

The Royal Society Africa Prize 2020 is awarded to Dr Steven Runo for elucidating pathways for long distance RNA trafficking between parasitic plants and their hosts and identifying and developing transgenic protocol for characterizing and validating candidate host and parasite genes.

Dr Runo will be awarded a medal and a grant of £15,000 towards his research project at a symposium to be held at a future date. 

Return to this year's Royal Society medal, award and prize winners

The award

The Royal Society Africa Prize is to recognise research scientists based in Africa who are making an innovative contribution to the sciences. The medal is of bronze, awarded annually and is accompanied by a gift of £2,000. The prize was previously the Royal Society Pfizer Award which was last awarded in 2016.


The call for nominations is now closed. The next round of nominations will open in November 2020.

Sign up to be notified when nominations open.

Past winners

Dr Henry Mwandumba was awarded the Royal Society Africa Prize 2019 for his novel work in description of the TB phagosome in HIV infected alveolar macrophages and his leadership in the College of Medicine in Malawi.

Dr Dorothy Yeboah-Manu was awarded the Royal Society Africa Prize 2018 for her contributions and innovative approaches to understanding Mycobacterium ulcerans and Mycobacterium africanum, combining microbiology, genetic studies and epidemiology in the areas of her work.

Dr Alassane Dicko was awarded the Royal Society Africa Prize 2019 for his contribution to research into malaria control, in particular using intermittent administration of medicines to children in the Seasonal Malaria Chemoprevention strategy recommended by WHO.

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.