Skip to content

Bakerian Medal and Lecture

Henry Baker FRS

The award

The Bakerian Medal and Lecture is the premier lecture in physical sciences. The lectureship was established through a bequest by Henry Baker FRS (PDF) of £100 for 'an oration or discourse on such part of natural history or experimental philosophy, at such time and in such manner as the President and Council of the Society for the time being shall please to order and appoint'. The lecture series began in 1775. The medal is of silver gilt, is awarded annually and is accompanied by a gift of £10,000.


The call for nominations is now closed. The next round of nominations will open in November 2021.

Past winners

Professor Victoria Kaspi CC FRS will be awarded the Bakerian Medal and Lecture 2021 for her research focused on neutron stars and their utility for constraining basic physics. More recently, she has also made fundamental discoveries on Fast Radio Bursts.

Sir James Hough OBE FRS was awarded the Bakerian Medal in 2020 and presented his lecture Ripples from the Dark Side of the Universe – a bright future ahead.

Professor Edward Hinds FRS was award the Bakerian Medal in 2019 and presented his lecture The quantum revolution in science and technology. 

See full list of all past winners of the Bakerian Medal and Lecture

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.