Skip to content

Croonian Medal and Lecture

William Croone FRS

Croonian Medal and Lecture winner 2021

Professor Barry Everitt FMedSci FRSProfessor Barry Everitt FMedSci FRS

The Croonian Medal and Lecture 2021 is awarded to Professor Barry Everitt FMedSci FRS. He has elucidated brain mechanisms of motivation and applied them to important societal issues such as drug addiction.

Professor Everitt will be awarded a medal and a gift of £10,000 at the Royal Society at a future date. 

Return to this year's Royal Society medal, award and prize winners.

The award

The Croonian Medal and Lecture is the premier lecture in the biological sciences. The lectureship was conceived by William Croone FRS (PDF), one of the original Fellows of the Society. Among the papers left on his death in 1684 were plans to endow two lectureships, one at the Royal Society and the other at the Royal College of Physicians. His widow later bequeathed the means to carry out the scheme. The lecture series began in 1738. The medal is of silver gilt, is awarded annually and is accompanied by a gift of £10,000. 


The call for nominations is now closed. The next round of nominations will open in November 2020.

Sign up to be notified when nominations open

Past winners

Professor Edward Boyden was awarded the Croonian Medal and Lecture 2020 for his inventions that expand our understanding of the brain and allow therapeutic development including the co-invention of optogenetics, a technology that has revolutionized neurobiology.

Dame Kay Davies DBE FMedSci FRS was awarded the Croonian Medal and Lecture 2019 for her achievements in developing a prenatal test for Duchenne muscular dystrophy and her work on characterizing dystrophin related proteins.

Professor Jennifer Doudna ForMemRS was awarded the Croonian Medal and Lecture 2018 for her outstanding structural and functional studies of RNA and ribonucleoprotiens and for elucidating the molecular mechanism of the CRISPR-Cas9 system and developing it for genetic engineering.

See full list of all past winners of the Croonian Medal and Lecture.

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.