Skip to content

Darwin Medal

Charles Darwin FRS

The Medal

The Darwin Medal is awarded for work of acknowledged distinction in evolution, population biology, organismal biology and biological diversity. It was created in memory of Charles Darwin FRS and was first awarded in 1890 to noted biologist and naturalist Alfred Russel Wallace FRS 'for his independent origination of the theory of the origin of species by natural selection.' The medal is silver, was awarded biennially until 2018 and is now awarded annually, and is accompanied by a gift of £2,000. 


The call for nominations is now closed. The next round of nominations will open in November 2018. 

Past winners

Dame Caroline Dean OBE FRS was awarded the Darwin medal 2016 for her work addressing fundamental questions in the perception of temperature cues and how modifications in epigenetic mechanisms play an important role in adaption.

Professor John Sutherland was awarded the Darwin Medal 2014 for his novel and convincing work on prebiotic chemistry, in particular his solution to the central problem of nucleoside synthesis.

See full list of all past winners of the Darwin Medal.