Skip to content

Ferrier Medal and Lecture

Royal Society medal front view
Royal Society medal

The award

The lectureship was created in memory of the neurologist and psychologist David Ferrier FRS (PDF), and was first awarded in 1928. It is given on a subject related to the advancement of natural knowledge on the structure and function of the nervous system. The medal is of bronze, is awarded biennially and is accompanied by a gift of £2,000. 


The Ferrier medal and lecture is open to UK/Commonwealth/Republic of Ireland citizens or those who have been residents for three or more years. There are no restrictions on career stage and nominations will remain valid and shall be considered by the award selection committee throughout three nomination cycles. Teams or groups may now be nominated for this award. 


Nominations are now closed and will reopen in November 2023.

Past winners

Professor Richard Morris CBE FMedSci FRS was awarded the Ferrier Medal in 2023 for greatly advancing the understanding of the physiological and psychological processes underlying memory.

Professor Daniel Wolpert FMedSci FRS was awarded the Ferrier Medal in 2021 for groundbreaking contributions to our understanding of how the brain controls movement. Using theoretical and experimental approaches he has elucidated the computational principles underlying skilled motor behaviour.

Professor Ray Dolan FMedSci FRS was awarded the Ferrier Medal in 2019 and presented his lecture Seeing the future: how our brains decide our actions

Professor Christine Holt FMedSci FRS was awarded the Ferrier Medal in 2017 and presented her lecture Wiring up the brain: How axons navigate. 

See full list of all past winners of the Ferrier Medal and Lecture.

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.