Skip to content

Gabor Medal

Dennis Gabor FRS

The award

The Gabor Medal is awarded for acknowledged distinction of interdisciplinary work between the life sciences with other disciplines.

The award was created in memory of the engineer Dennis Gabor FRS (PDF), Nobel Prize winner and inventor of holography. The medal is silver gilt, was awarded biennially until 2017 and is now awarded annually. The lectureship is accompanied by a medal and a gift of £2,000.  


The call for nominations is now closed. The next round of nominations will open in November 2018. 

Past winners

Professor Richard Durbin FRS was awarded the Gabor Medal in 2017 for his outstanding contributions to computational biology, and their impact across many areas of the life sciences. 

Professor Benjamin David Simons was awarded the Gabor Medal in 2015 for his work analysing stem cell lineages in development, tissue homeostasis and cancer, revolutionising our understanding of stem cell behaviour in vivo.