Skip to content

Royal Society Mullard Award

A photograph of the very first ARM with its original name, credit ARM Ltd

The award

The Royal Society Mullard Award was provided by a gift to the Society by the Board of Directors of Mullard Ltd and is awarded to those whose work has the potential to make a contribution to national prosperity. The award includes a silver gilt medal, accompanied by a £2,000 gift and £1,500 travel grant. 


The call for nominations is now closed. The next round of nominations will open in November 2018.  

Past winners

The Royal Society Mullard Medal 2016 was awarded jointly to Professor Stephen Furber CBE FREng FRS and Ms Sophie Wilson FREng FRS for their distinguished contributions to the design and analysis of the Acorn RISC Machine (ARM), the most successful embedded processor architecture in the world.

Dr Demis Hassabis received the Royal Society Mullard Award in 2014 for his pioneering use of machine learning and systems neuroscience to build powerful general-purpose learning algorithms, delivering a significant contribution to national prosperity. 

See full list of all past winners of the Royal Society Mullard Award.