Skip to content

Rumford Medal

A “single pixel camera” developed by the Padgett research group as part of their contribution to QuantIC (one of the UKs four EPSRC funded quantum technology hubs). Credit: Kevin Mitchel

Rumford medallist 2019

Miles Padgett FRSProfessor Miles Padgett FRS

The Rumford Medal 2019 is awarded to Professor Miles Padgett FRS for world leading research on optical orbital momentum including an angular form of the Einstein-Padolsky-Rosen paradox.

Professor Padgett will be awarded a medal and a gift of £2,000 at the Royal Society's Anniversary Day meeting on 29 November 2019. 

The award

The Rumford Medal is awarded for outstanding research in the field of the physics. The award was established following a donation by Benjamin Thompson FRS (PDF), Count Rumford of the Holy Roman Empire, an American-born former soldier, spy, statesman and scientist who would go on to found the Royal Institution. The first award was made in 1800. The medal is of silver gilt, is awarded annually and is accompanied by a gift of £2,000.


The call for nominations opens on 29 November 2019.

Sign up to be notified when medals and awards nominations open.

Past winners

Professor Ian Walmsley FRS was awarded the Rumford Medal in 2018 for pioneering work in the quantum control of light and matter on ultrashort timescales, especially the invention and application of new techniques for characterization of quantum and classical light fields.

Professor Ortwin Hess was awarded the Rumford Medal in 2016 for his pioneering work in active nano-plasmonics and optical metamaterials with quantum gain.

Professor Jeremy Baumberg FRS was awarded the Rumford Medal in 2014 for his outstanding creativity in nanophotonics, investigating many ingenious nanostructures, both artificial and natural to support novel plasmonic phenomena relevant to Raman spectroscopy, solar cell performance and meta-materials applications. 

See full list of all past winners of the Rumford Medal.

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.