Skip to content

Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize

Cordelia Fine’s explosive study of gender politics has won the 30th anniversary Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize.

Judges praised Fine’s powerful book, Testosterone Rex: Unmaking the Myths of Our Gendered Minds, for its eye-opening, forensic look at gender stereotypes and its urgent call for change 

Since 1988 the Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize has celebrated outstanding popular science writing and authors. Open to books written for a non-specialist audience, hundreds of entries are submitted by publishers from all over the world. 

Over the decades, the Prize has celebrated some notable winners including Bill Bryson, Stephen Hawking, Brian Greene and more recently Andrea Wulf. Each year our panel of expert judges comprising eminent scientists, authors and media personalities choose the book that they believe makes popular science writing compelling and accessible to the public. Previous judges have included David Attenborough, Terry Pratchett, Ian McEwan, Tracy Chevalier, Jocelyn Bell Burnell and Brian Cox. The winner is announced at a special award ceremony in the autumn.

This year we are celebrating our 30 year anniversary. Find out about the 2017 Prize including our shortlist, or for more general information click on the boxes below.

We announced our 30th winner at a special award ceremony on 19 September, hosted by Professor Brian Cox. More information can be found on the event webpage

For all enquiries please contact

Celebrating 30 years of popular science writing

The Royal Society Book Prize


Find out more >