Skip to content

2018 Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize

Winner 2018

This year's Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize has been awarded to Professor Sarah-Jayne Blakemore for her book Inventing Ourselves. In it, Blakemore offers fresh insight based on her own laboratory research about how the brain develops during adolescence to shape the adults we become.

Watch the 2018 award ceremony, presented by Professor Brian Cox. 

This year's judging panel was led by Frances Ashcroft who, as well as being widely published in the field of cell physiology, has also written two popular science books.

Our six shortlisted books exemplify contemporary science writing at its best: all are grounded in rigorous research, hugely accessible and framed around a compelling narrative.

 Dame Frances Ashcroft FRS FMedSci

Follow the links below to learn more about this year's shortlist and judging panel, or find out more about past winners.

For all enquiries, please contact

Judging panel 2018

Shortlist 2018

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.