Skip to content

About the Prize

The 2017 Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize
The Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize award ceremony 2017

Founded in 1988 (and previously known under various banners including the Royal Society Prize for Science Books, Aventis Prize and Rhône-Poulenc Prize, The Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books and most recently The Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize), the Royal Society Trivedi Science Book Prize has championed outstanding popular science writing for over 30 years. See all past winners.

The author of the winning book receives £25,000 and £2,500 is awarded to each of the five shortlisted books. The winner is announced at a special award ceremony in the autumn.   

Our sponsor

The 2023 Prize, is sponsored by the Trivedi Family Foundation.

Ashok Trivedi, President of the Trivedi Family Foundation, said,

So many of the most urgent problems that face us today can only be solved by thinking in an interdisciplinary way. That's why I'm particularly pleased that the Trivedi Family Foundation is supporting the Prize, which celebrates two disciplines that are often seen as worlds apart, science and literature. Both set out to explore the world around us, bringing new ideas to life or challenge us to better understand what is already known, and both require passion and creativity.

Prize timeline

Date Details
9 February 2023 Call for entries opens
24 March 2023 Call for entries closes
26 July 2023 Judging panel announced
27 September 2023 Shortlist announced
22 November 2023 Winner announced at award ceremony 
Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.