Skip to content

Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize 2016


Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize 2016

About the prize

Founded in 1988 (and previously known under various banners including the Royal Society Prize for Science Books, Aventis Prize and Rhône-Poulenc Prize, and most recently, The Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books), the Prize celebrates outstanding popular science books from around the world and is open to authors of science books written for a non-specialist audience. Over the decades it has championed writers such as Stephen Hawking, Jared Diamond, Stephen Jay Gould and Brian Greene.

The author of the winning book receives £25,000 and £2,500 each is awarded to the authors of the five shortlisted books. The winner will be announced in September. Last year’s winner was Gaia Vince, for her book Adventures in the Anthropocene.

See all past winning and shortlisted titles.


The Prize has announced its panel of judges for 2016, chaired by bestselling author Bill Bryson, who won the Prize in 2004 with A Short History of Nearly Everything, widely celebrated for being a comprehensive guide to the universe written by a layman rather than a scientist.   

Bill Bryson will be joined by four other judges this year: theoretical physicist Dr Clare Burrage, celebrated science fiction author Alastair Reynolds, ornithologist and science blogger GrrlScientist, and Roger Highfield, Director of External Affairs at The Science Museum.


The Royal Society has announced that it has secured a new sponsor for our Book Prize, now in its 29th year. Insight Investment, one of the largest investment management companies, will be sponsoring the prestigious award, which will now be known as The Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize.

Information for publishers

Entries for the 2016 prize are now closed and will re-open in January 2017. If you would like to be reminded of the call for entries, please complete this short form.

Find out more about how to enter the Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize.

Entries are now closed

Entries for the 2016 Prize are now closed and will open again in 2017.

If you would like to be reminded when the call for entries opens, please complete the form below.

Remind me

Recent winners

Adventures in the Anthropocene (2015)

Stuff Matters (2014)

The Particle at the End of the Universe (2013)

The Information (2012)