Skip to content

Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize 2017

The Insight Investment Book Prize celebrates outstanding popular science books from around the world. We are now closed to entries for the 2017 Prize.

Andrea Wulf

About the prize

Founded in 1988 (and previously known under various banners including the Royal Society Prize for Science Books, Aventis Prize and Rhône-Poulenc Prize, and most recently, The Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books), the Prize celebrates outstanding popular science books from around the world and is open to authors of science books written for a non-specialist audience. Over the decades it has championed writers such as Stephen Hawking, Jared Diamond, Gaia Vince and recently Andrea Wulf.

The author of the winning book receives £25,000 and £2,500 each is awarded to the authors of the five shortlisted books. The winner will be announced in September.


The 2017 Prize, now in its 30th year, will be again sponsored by Insight Investment, one of the largest investment management companies.

Winner 2016

Last year’s winner was Andrea Wulf, for her book The Invention of Nature.

The 2016 Prize was judged by a panel chaired by author Bill Bryson, joined by theoretical physicist Dr Clare Burrage, celebrated science fiction author Alastair Reynolds, ornithologist and science blogger GrrlScientist, and Roger Highfield, Director of External Affairs at The Science Museum.

See all past winning and shortlisted titles.

Shortlist 2016

Recent winners

The Invention of Nature (2016)

Adventures in the Anthropocene (2015)

Stuff Matters (2014)

The Particle at the End of the Universe (2013)