List of Eligible Independent Research Organisations

Please note the Royal Society are currently reviewing this list, our assessment process and our eligibility criteria and as such this list may be updated in due course.

Please see the Royal Society Grant Funding Guidance for details of our funding model for IROs.

Independent research organisations eligible to apply to Royal Society grant programmes:

  • Armagh Observatory
  • Beatson Institute of Cancer Research
  • British Museum
  • CABI Bioscience UK Centre
  • European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts
  • Game Conservancy Trust
  • Institute of Development Studies
  • Institute of Fiscal Studies
  • Institute of Zoology
  • Marine Biological Association of the United Kingdom
  • Moredun Research Institute
  • National Institute for Agricultural Botany
  • National Museum Liverpool
  • National Museum Wales
  • National Museums Scotland
  • Natural History Museum
  • Rosalind Franklin Institute
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh
  • Royal Botanic Gardens Kew
  • Sainsbury Laboratory
  • Science Museum
  • Tate Britain
  • The James Hutton Institute
  • Victoria and Albert Museum
  • Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute

(last reviewed, June 2021)