Kavli Education Medal and Lecture

Kavli Education Medal and Lecture winner 2020

The Kavli Education Medal and Lecture 2020 was awarded to Mr Simon Humphreys for his transformative contribution to computing education, influencing both national policy and the lives of thousands of practicing school teachers.

Mr Humphreys was awarded a medal of bronze gilt and a gift of £1,000 at the Kavli Education Lecture 2020

You can find out more about his work and the impact Computing at School has had on making computer science an important part of students' everyday learning via his post on the Royal Society blog.

Return to this year's Royal Society medal, award and prize winners.



The Award 

The Kavli Education Medal is awarded for impact in the field of science, mathematics or computing education. The medal is awarded biennially, is of bronze gilt and is accompanied by a gift of £1,000. 


The Kavli Education medal and lecture is open to UK/Commonwealth/Irish Republic citizens or those who have been residents for three or more years. There are no restrictions on career stage and nominations will remain valid and shall be considered by the award selection committee throughout three nomination cycles.


The call for nominations is now closed. 

Past winners

The Kavli Education Medal and Lecture 2018 was awarded to Professor Alice Rogers OBE for her outstanding contributions to mathematics education. 

Dr Becky Parker MBE was awarded the Kavli Education Medal 2016 for founding the Langton Star Centre for school children to perform authentic research in the sciences and her encouragement for other teachers to undertake creative and experimental research with their pupils.

Professor Sir John Holman was awarded the Kavli Education Medal in 2014 in recognition of his significant impact on science education within the UK. 

See full list of all past winners of the Kavli Education Medal.